The Free Tier accounts for BigBlueButton do not allow students to see other students webcams in some accounts.
While on these accounts students can not see other student's webcams in regular sessions, webcams are still a BIG part of the lecture:
- Students can share webcams.
- Teacher's can see all student's webcams.
- Students can see the instructor's webcams.
- Students can see each other webcams in breakout rooms
Also, to give students visibility to everyone's webcams -- which is important for K12 -- the instructor can share their screen while viewing all the webcams. Students will see the screen share and, in turn, see all the webcams on the Instructor's screen.
For a video showing how to use screen sharing to broadcast student's webcams to other students, see Showing webcams through screen sharing.
To inquire about upgrading to Premium Tier, if your LMS administrator (which can then in turn reach out to their LMS provider or to us directly).